Skip to Content

Zog and the Flying Doctors | Review

Zog and the Flying Doctors | Review

Zog and the Flying Doctors have bang-crash-thumped into a lively theatre production that we wholeheartedly recommend. Keep reading to hear more about the production and see when the tour might be coming to a theatre near you.

AD | I have been or could be if you click on a link in this post compensated via a cash payment, gift or something else of value for writing this post. See our full disclosure policy and privacy policy for more details.

Like most families with young children, Julia Donaldson is a household name to us – we have a number of her books, we love the BBC adaptations of her stories and her audiobooks regularly accompany us on car journeys.

If you have young children then Zog and the Flying Doctors is the perfect introduction to theatre.

The play is an hour long, which we found is the right length for holding our children’s attention – we have a 3, 5 and 7 year old and they all sat and were engaged for the entire performance (which certainly isn’t a given!). We forgot to buy snacks as a motivation to sit still and be quiet (we noticed this when, already sat in our seats, we were enviously looking at the pots of popcorn that others had the foresight to purchase!) but actually, our kids genuinely didn’t need it.

The show is full of dancing, singing, puppetry and audience participation. The scenes move along quickly enough that the children stay engaged and yet there are quiet, reflective moments in the show when the lion, mermaid and unicorn sing solos about their medical woes.

The children totally came away with the point that princesses can be doctors! But the show is lighthearted, funny, innocent, and not at all preachy.

Our favourite character (apart from Princess Pearl of course!) was the baddie of the show, the King. In a similar style to King George in Hamilton – the king sings solos, dances around the stage, addresses the audience and has curly locks. He made us laugh and smile, and whoop for joy when he comes to the realisation that without Princess Pearl’s medical care he would forever be orange!

The show is recommended for 3+, but the audience for our trip ranged from toddlers up to key stage 2 children (on a school trip!) – all seemed to enjoy it.

At the end of the performance, the cast sing and dance and encourage the audience to get on their feet and do the same – it was brilliant to see that the audience were enthusiastically joining in – and it was the older kids who were most into it!

Zog and the Flying Doctors was produced by Freckle, the same company that created the stage show Stickman, which I reviewed a few months ago. After our previous experience, we knew that any stage production by Freckle would be funny, memorable and aimed perfectly for our children’s age. We were not disappointed.

So if you’re looking for a show which will be a hit with your kids – then here it is – Zog and the Flying Doctors. I promise you’ll have a roar-some time.

Zog and the Flying Doctors are touring the UK this Spring and Summer. Below are the tour dates, so you can find a venue near you.

Tuesday 8 – Wednesday 9 March 2022

The Place, Telford 

Box Office: 01952 382 382 / www.theplacetelford.com 

Friday 11 – Sunday 13 March 2022

New Theatre, Peterborough

Box Office: www.newtheatre-peterborough.com / 01733 852 992

Monday 14 -Tuesday 15 March 2022

New Theatre Royal, Lincoln

Box Office: www.newtheatreroyallincoln.co.uk / 01522 519 999

Friday 18 – Sunday 20 March 2022

The Capitol Horsham

Box Office: www.thecapitolhorsham.com / 01403 750220

Thursday 24 – Saturday 26 March 2022

Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Box Office: www.churchilltheatre.co.uk / 020 3285 6000

Thursday 31 March – Friday 1 April 2022

Leeds Playhouse

Box Office: www.leedsplayhouse.org.uk / 0113 213 7700

Saturday 2 – Sunday 3 April 2022

Lawrence Batley Theatre, Huddersfield

Box Office: www.thelbt.org / 01484 430528

Wednesday 6 – Thursday 7 April 2022

The Orchard Theatre, Dartford

Box Office: www.orchardtheatre.co.uk / 01322 220 000

Friday 8 – Sunday 10 April 2022

Southbank Centre, London

Box Office: www.southbankcentre.co.uk

Monday 11 – Tuesday 12 April 2022

St David’s Hall, Cardiff

Box Office: www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk 

Saturday 16 – Sunday 17 April 2022

Worthing Pavilion Theatre

Box Office: www.wtm.uk / 01903 206 206 

Tuesday 19 – Sunday 24 April 2022

Bristol Old Vic

Box Office: www.bristololdvic.org.uk / 0117 987 7877

Tuesday 26 – Wednesday 27 April 2022

The Forum, Barrow-In-Furness

Box Office: www.theforumbarrow.co.uk / 01229 820000 

Friday 29 April – Sunday 1 May 2022

Gaiety Theatre, Isle of Man

Box Office: www.villagaiety.com / 01624 600555

Wednesday 11 – Thursday 23 May 2022

Derby Theatre

Box Office: www.derbytheatre.co.uk / 01332 59 39 39

Saturday 14 – Sunday 15 May 2022

Harrogate Theatre

Box Office: www.harrogatetheatre.co.uk / 01423 502 116

Wednesday 25 – Thursday 26 May 2022

Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury

Box Office: www.theatresevern.co.uk / 01743 281 281

Saturday 28 – Sunday 29 May 2022

The Lowry, Salford

Box Office: www.thelowry.com / 0343 208 6000

Tuesday 31 May – Wednesday 1 June 2022

St George’s Hall, Bradford

Box Office: www.bradford-theatres.co.uk / 01274 432000

Thursday 2 – Saturday 4 June 2022

Liverpool Playhouse

Box Office: www.everymanplayhouse.com / 0151 709 4776

Saturday 11 – Sunday 12 June 2022

Mercury Theatre, Colchester

Box Office: www.mercurytheatre.co.uk / 01206 573948

Friday 17 – Sunday 19 June 2022

Gala Theatre, Durham

Box Office: www.galadurham.co.uk / 03000 266 600

Wednesday 22 – Thursday 23 June 2022

Hull City Hall

Box Office: www.hulltheatres.co.uk / 01482 300 306 

Friday 24 – Saturday 25 June 2022

York Theatre Royal

Box Office: 01904 623568 / www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk

Tuesday 28 – Wednesday 29 June 2022

The Gulbenkian, Canterbury

Box Office: www.thegulbenkian.co.uk / 01227 769075

Friday 1 – Sunday 3 June 2022

Exeter Northcott Theatre

Box Office: 01392 726363 / www.exeternorthcott.co.uk

Wednesday 6 – Friday 8 July 2022

Whitehall Theatre, Dundee

Box Office: www.dundeebox.co.uk

Sunday 9 – Wednesday 13 July 2022

King’s Theatre, Edinburgh

Box Office: www.capitaltheatres.com / 0131 529 6000

Friday 15 – Sunday 17 July 2022

Wycombe Swan Theatre, High Wycombe

Box Office: 01494 512 000 / www.wycombeswan.co.uk

Tuesday 19 – Thursday 21 July 2022

Princess Alexandra Auditorium, Stockton-on-Tees

Box Office: 01642 792587 / www.thepaaonline.org

Friday 22 – Sunday 24 July 2022

Darlington Hippodrome

Box Office: 01325 405405 www.darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk 

Friday 29 – Sunday 31 July 2022

Sheffield City Hall

Box Office: www.sheffieldcityhall.co.uk / 0114 2 789 789

Tuesday 2 – Thursday 4 August 2022

Venue Cymru, Llandudno

Box Office: www.venuecymru.co.uk / 01492 872000

Friday 5 – Saturday 6 August 2022

Swansea Grand Theatre

Box Office: www.swanseagrand.co.uk / 01792 475715

Tuesday 16 – Wednesday 17 August 2022

De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill

Box Office: www.dlwp.com 

Friday 19 – Sunday 21 August 2022

Oxford Playhouse

Box Office: www.oxfordplayhouse.com / 01865 305305

Tuesday 23 – Sunday 28 August 2022

Birmingham Town Hall

Box Office: www.bmusic.co.uk / 0121 289 6333

If you have enjoyed this post and found it useful, here are some ways you can say thanks and support Mini Travellers:
1 - Join our Reviews and Recommendations Facebook Group here which includes lots of ideas for things to do - you can post your own recommendations too.
2 - Buy our debut novel for boys and girls ages 7-11 The Little Museum (an exciting adventure set in France)
3 - Click here to leave Mini Travellers a Google Review.
4 - Share this post with your friends
5 - Follow Mini Travellers on the following platforms :
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Thank you for your support as always.
 Extraordinary-Travellers-The-Little-Museum-and-The-Clock-Thief-Website-Banner-

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.