0

SEARCH


Books
Uncategorised

Mini Travellers Children’s Book Recommendations for December

We have got a bumper blog post full of fantastic children’s books for you this month. I think books make the perfect presents and we’ve got a brilliant selection for kids of all ages. Do keep an eye on twitter for a chance to win copies of some of the books featured.

AD | I have been or could be if you click on a link in this post compensated via a cash payment, gift or something else of value for writing this post. See our full disclosure policy and privacy policy for more details.

Picture Books

The Night After Christmas by Kes Gray and Claire Powell (Hodder Children’s Books)

It’s the night after Christmas and now that all of the presents have been delivered, it’s time for the celebrations to begin at the North Pole! Written in a lovely to read, rhyming text, this book is full of festive fun.

The Night After Christmas by Kes Gray and Claire Powell (Hodder Children’s Books)

A Thing Called Snow by Yuval Zommer (Oxford University Press)

When best friends Fox and Hare are told that winter is on its way, they decide to go in search of a mysterious substance they’ve heard of called ‘snow’. This is a beautiful book that celebrates the natural world, the changing of the seasons and the power of curiosity.

A Thing Called Snow by Yuval Zommer (Oxford University Press)

Peas On Earth illustrated by Lindsey Sagar (Little Tiger)

This is a lovely board book for young readers who can count the five festive peas throughout the story. The tactile cut outs on every page make it particularly a-pea-ling for very young readers.

Peas On Earth illustrated by Lindsey Sagar (Little Tiger)

The Snowflake by Benji Davies (Harpercollins)

This is a stunning story about a tiny snowflake who doesn’t want to fall from the sky and a little girl who is desperate for it to snow. It has a lovely message about finding your own special place in the world.

The Snowflake by Benji Davies (Harpercollins)

Santa Post by Emma Yarlett (Walker Books)

Santa receives a last-minute letter from Amy, but the part of her letter that says what she’d like for Christmas is missing. Will Santa and his helpers work out what Amy’s perfect present is before Christmas Eve? With fold out letters throughout, this has been an instant hit with my son.

Santa Post by Emma Yarlett (Walker Books)

Gift Books

Where’s Olaf (Studio Press)

This frosty search and find book is perfect for fans of Frozen. Readers will have great fun spotting Olaf and his friends, Elsa, Anna, Kristoff and Sven in every wintery scene.

Where’s Olaf (Studio Press)

Draw With Rob At Christmas by Rob Biddulph (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Packed full of festive crafts and activities this book also has step-by-step instructions on how to draw your favourite Christmas characters. My son absolutely loved the first Draw With Rob activity book and I can highly recommend this for fans of Rob Biddulph as well as budding artists.

Draw With Rob At Christmas by Rob Biddulph (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Disney Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas: Pop Up Advent Calendar (Studio Press)

On the run up to Christmas, open a door every day to reveal characters and keepsakes from Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas. Use them to decorate the stunning 30cm pop up Christmas tree inside and read facts about the residents of Halloween Town from the booklet inside.

Disney Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas: Pop Up Advent Calendar (Studio Press)

Your Mood Journal by Fearne Cotton (Puffin)

This activity book is packed full of ways to help you explore your emotions. With plenty of space for your input, it has practical suggestions for recognising your emotions and helping you to understand them.

Your Mood Journal by Fearne Cotton (Puffin) COMP

I Love Koalas (Buster Books)

This mini colouring book is full of beautiful Koala themed pictures to colour in and would make an ideal stocking filler.

I Love Koalas (Buster Books)

Young Fiction

A Natural History of Fairies by Emily Hawkins and Jessica Roux (Frances Lincoln)

This beautiful hardback book is full of everything you could every want to know about fairies, from their life cycle and habitats to facts about the many different types that live amongst us. With stunning illustrations, this would make a fantastic gift for any fairy fan.

A Natural History of Fairies by Emily Hawkins and Jessica Roux (Frances Lincoln)

Frost by Holly Webb (Little Tiger)

Cassie thinks the foxes that live near her flat are beautiful. One wintery night she follows them out into the streets and discovers a whole other world. With black and white illustrations throughout, this lovely story is written by bestselling author Holly Webb.

Frost by Holly Webb (Little Tiger)

Where Snow Angles Go by Maggie O’Farrell, illustrated by Daniela Jaglenka Terrazzini (Walker Books)

This is a beautifully told story about a brave little girl who learns where snow angels go. This modern fairy tale by award winning author Maggie O’Farrell has just the right touch of magic to captivate readers.

Where Snow Angles Go by Maggie O’Farrell, illustrated by Daniela Jaglenka Terrazzini (Walker Books)

A Christmas In Time by Sally Nicholls (Nosy Crow)

When time-travellers Alex and Ruby fall through their aunt’s mirror, they land in a Victorian Christmas! Can they help their new friend Edith from being sent to a horrible boarding school on Boxing day?

A Christmas In Time by Sally Nicholls (Nosy Crow)

Trouble on Planet Christmas by Kate Saunders, illustrated by Neal Layton (Faber)

There’s trouble brewing on the planet Yule-1, the real home of Santa, so he flies in Jake, Sadie and their parents to see if they can save Christmas!

Trouble on Planet Christmas by Kate Saunders, illustrated by Neal Layton (Faber)

Older fiction

Tinsel: The Girls Who Invented Christmas by Sibeal Pounder (Bloomsbury Childrens)

Join Blanche Claus and her best friend Rinki to discover the real Santa story. With friendship, magic and plenty of festive fun, this is a witty story with a feisty female protagonist.

Tinsel: The Girls Who Invented Christmas by Sibeal Pounder (Bloomsbury Childrens)

Frostheart: Escape From Aurora by Jamie Littler (Puffin)

Ash is on his way to the Pathfinder Stronghold of Aurora, in search of clues to lead him to his lost parents. But when his Song Weaving powers cause trouble, the crew of the Frostheart make a break for freedom leaving Ash no choice but to set out on a dangerous journey. This sequel to Frostheart is a gripping story with a perfect balance of mystery, magic and adventure.

Frostheart: Escape From Aurora by Jamie Littler (Puffin)

Gender Swapped Fairy Tales by Karrie Fransman & Jonathan Plackett (Faber Childrens)

These stunning illustrated fairytales have one notable difference, all of the genders of the characters are swapped. Inspired by stories they read to their child, this husband and wife team have created a book that shines a light on gender stereotypes and power imbalances in the traditional tales we all grew up with.

Gender Swapped Fairy Tales by Karrie Fransman & Jonathan Plackett (Faber Childrens)

The Book of Hopes edited by Katherine Rundell (Bloomsbury Childrens)

Earlier this year, Katherine Rundell wrote to other children’s authors and illustrators she admired and asked them to write or draw something to inspire children. The result is this uplifting, beautiful, book that is perfect for anyone who needs to feel just a bit more hopeful.

The Book of Hopes edited by Katherine Rundell (Bloomsbury Childrens)

A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth by Francesca Gibbons, illustrated by Chris Riddell (HarperCollins)

When Imogen and her little sister Marie follow a strange silver moth through a door in a tree, they end up in a magical kingdom where no one behaves at they should. Desperate to escape the monsters that come out at night and find a way home, they embark on an adventure and make some unusual new friends.

A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth by Francesca Gibbons, illustrated by Chris Riddell (HarperCollins)

Non-fiction

Hide and Seek History: The Egyptians written by Jonny Marx, illustrated by Chaaya Prabhat (Little Tiger)

This is a large hardback book packed full of fascinating facts about the ancient Egyptians. With multiple flaps on every page, it encourages readers to engage with the book as they delve deeper and learn more about these interesting people,

Hide and Seek History: The Egyptians written by Jonny Marx, illustrated by Chaaya Prabhat (Little Tiger)

The Big Book of Football by Mundial, illustrated by Damien Weighill (Wide Eyed Editions)

This book contains everything you’ve ever wanted to know about the beautiful game, from dream teams, to techniques and from players and stadiums to the cups. Perfect for football fans.

The Big Book of Football by Mundial, illustrated by Damien Weighill (Wide Eyed Editions)

The World’s Most Magnificent Machines by David Long, illustrated by Simon Tyler (Faber& Faber)

Within the pages of this book you’ll find 32 of the most magnificent machines throughout history – from the longest ship ever built to the largest jet plane. With artwork inspired by 1920’3 travel posters, this is a great book for anyone who is fascinated by machines and the stories behind them.

The World’s Most Magnificent Machines by David Long, illustrated by Simon Tyler (Faber& Faber)

This Is Our World by Tracey Turner and Asa Gilland (Macmillan Children’s Books)

Meet 20 children from around the world and learn more about the places they live and what they like to do. With beautiful illustrations, this book really celebrates how differently human beings can live, but ultimately how much we also have in common.

This Is Our World by Tracey Turner and Asa Gilland (Macmillan Children’s Books)

A mum of two, Naomi Jones spent eight years working for Children’s Publishers in London and is now a children’s author and freelance editor. Her debut picture book, The Perfect Fit, will publish in March 2021.



No Comments

    Leave a Reply